Skip to main content
Scholars Portal logo

Accessibility Initiatives

This guide describes major accessibility initiatives at Scholars Portal including the Accessible Content E-Portal (ACE), the ACE digitization service, and the Accessibility Information Toolkit for Libraries.

Accessibility initiatives

About this guide

In response to the growing need of Ontario University libraries to develop consortial tools and solutions in support of inclusive learning, OCUL has proudly undertaken a series of reserach projects and established a new core service, demonstrating its dedication to developing new and innovative solutions in support of its partners.

This LibGuide provides information about current accessibility initiatives at Scholars Portal, Ontario Council of University Libraries. Please use the tabs at the top of this page to navigate to the different sections.

ACE user feedback

[P]ersonally I feel frustrated that a sighted student can borrow any item they wish from literally any library in the world, but I cannot get a digitized copy of a book from a school down the street

Anonymous student, 2014

As someone who depends on the accessibility of these resources it means a great deal -- a great deal -- to know there are people working on the system who really care about our voices and want to make the system as accessible as possible. [...] This project could have a determining impact on my -- and other disabled students' academic careers.

Anonymous user, 2013

ACE working group and partnerships

ACE service is designed to support all OCUL university libraries in Ontario. The following 17 universities actively participate in the continued development of ACE:

  • Brock University
  • Carleton University
  • Guelph, University of
  • Lakehead University
  • Laurentian University 
  • Laurier University
  • McMaster University‚Äč 
  • OCAD University
  • Ottawa, University of
  • Queen's University
  • Ryerson University
  • Toronto, University of
  • Trent University
  • UOIT
  • Waterloo, University of
  • Western University
  • Windsor, University of
  • York University

Starting in January 2015, the ACE service has also been extended to participating Ontario Colleges. For more information about this partnership, please refer to the OCLS website. The following 24 colleges are currently a part of the ACE project:

  • Algonquin College
  • Collège Boréal
  • Cambrian College
  • Canadore College
  • Centennial College
  • Conestoga College
  • Confederation College
  • Durham College
  • Fanshawe College
  • Fleming College
  • George Brown College
  • Georgian College
  • Humber College
  • La Cite College
  • Lambton College
  • Loyalist College
  • Mohawk College
  • Niagara College
  • Northern College
  • Sault College
  • Seneca College
  • Sheridan College
  • St. Clair College
  • St. Lawrence College