Skip to main content
Scholars Portal logo

ACE (Accessible Content E-Portal)

ACE is a new service from Scholars Portal, which supports students with print disabilities at participating universities in Ontario by providing access to library books in five different accessible formats through an online platform.

What is ACE?

Screenshot of ACE Portal website

The ACE (Accessible Content E-Portal) is a service from Scholars Portal that supports users with print disabilities at participating universities in Ontario by providing access to library books in accessible formats. To find out which universities are participants please refer to the list of schools listed on this page.

As of April 2017, ACE...

  • contains over 12,000 books across 20 different subject areas
  • provides books in five different accessible formats
  • serves students and faculty at eighteen participating universities and twenty colleges

This guide serves as an introduction to ACE, and aims to provide assistance to any current or potential users. Librarians and other professionals looking for more information should check out the Accessibility Initiatives LibGuide instead.

What do our users say about us?

I really appreciate being able to utilize this service and want you to know that it will make a huge difference for me in my experience as a graduate student!!

Anonymous student, November 2014

The Scholars Portal is a great site and I downloaded the pdf in seconds!

Anonymous student, January 2014

This project could have a determining impact on my -- and other disabled students' academic careers.

- Anonymous student, 2013


ACE working group and partnerships

ACE service is designed to support all OCUL university libraries in Ontario. The following 17 universities actively participate in the continued development of ACE:

  • Brock University
  • Carleton University
  • Guelph, University of
  • Lakehead University
  • Laurentian University 
  • Laurier University
  • McMaster University‚Äč 
  • OCAD University
  • Ottawa, University of
  • Queen's University
  • Ryerson University
  • Toronto, University of
  • Trent University
  • UOIT
  • Waterloo, University of
  • Western University
  • Windsor, University of
  • York University

Starting in January 2015, the ACE service has also been extended to participating Ontario Colleges. For more information about this partnership, please refer to the OCLS website. The following 24 colleges are currently a part of the ACE project:

  • Algonquin College
  • Collège Boréal
  • Cambrian College
  • Canadore College
  • Centennial College
  • Conestoga College
  • Confederation College
  • Durham College
  • Fanshawe College
  • Fleming College
  • George Brown College
  • Georgian College
  • Humber College
  • La Cite College
  • Lambton College
  • Loyalist College
  • Mohawk College
  • Niagara College
  • Northern College
  • Sault College
  • Seneca College
  • Sheridan College
  • St. Clair College
  • St. Lawrence College