Skip to main content
Scholars Portal logo

Mobile Ebooks

ebrary

ebrary is one of the most popular platform for academic publishers. It hosts several different collections including:

  • Canadian Health Research Collection (CHRC)
  • Canadian Public Policy Collection (CPPC)
  • Canadian Publishers Collection
  • Oxford U Press
  • Cambridge University Press
  • Taylor and Francis. 

Downloading restrictions for the collections and publishers within those collections will vary. Some publishers allow only a few pages to be downloaded while others will allow an entire book to be downloaded. However ebrary also has a "check out" feature which allows you to download a full book for a limited amount of time. Please see the ebrary website for more information of this feature.

Format DRM Download Restrictions

PDF - create an image PDF OR download an entire document  and ePub (aprox. 30% available in ePub)

Adobe Digital Editions Varies by publisher

EBL

EBL has a "check out" feature which allows you to download a full book for a limited amount of time. 

Format DRM Download Restrictions

PDF 

Varies
5% copy and paste, 20% print per user per title.  
PDF downloads require Adobe Digital Editions to manage the DRM (same restrictions).
The count for these is separate, providing the patron print up to 40% of a title and copy and paste up to 10%. 
Counts reset every six weeks.

EBSCOHost eBooks

The EBSCOHost eBooks collection platform contains various functions which allow users to do things like download content and check out ebooks. 

Downloading eBooks 

eBooks Getting Started and Troubleshooting for Android Devices

eBooks Getting Started and Troubleshooting for Apple Devices

e-book downloads must be enabled by your library and a 'My Ebscohost' folder account is required. 

Downloading restrictions for the collections and publishers within those collections will vary. Some publishers allow only a few pages to be downloaded while others will allow an entire book to be downloaded.

Format DRM Download Restrictions
PDF Yes Varies

Scholars Portal

Scholars Portal Books is a service of the Ontario Council of University Libraries. It is a repository of locally-loaded books and documents available to users at Ontario's twenty-one libraries, acquired from a variety of different publishers.

Because the content on Scholars Portal varies in terms of publisher, so does the downloading restrictions for the collections and publishers within those collections. Some publishers allow only a few pages to be downloaded while others will allow an entire book to be downloaded.

Recently 3500 titles were added that can be downloaded and "borrowed" in their entirety. They expire 3 days after downloading. These titles require a reader, either Adobe Digital Editions or Bluefire

Format DRM Download Restrictions
PDF & XML Varies All XML books can be downloaded by chapter. PDF restrictions vary.