Skip to main content
Scholars Portal logo

Scholars Portal Books

Frequently Asked Questions

 

What are the different collections available?

Books on Scholars Portal come from many different publishers, including Duke University Press, APA, Brill, Springer, Oxford, Wiley, Taylor & Francis, fourteen Canadian University Presses, and many others. We are always adding new content. You can browse all available collections from the Scholars Portal Books mainpage or search results page by scrolling through the drop down menu.

 

Why can't I access some books?


Universities outside of Ontario use Scholars Portal Books to access Canadian University Presses and ITER Press content, but will not be able to access other commercial collections via the platform, even if they have purchased the same collections through another platform. To limit search results to your school's entitlements, select "Show only content I can access" when searching. Make sure you've proxied in, or you won't see any subscribed content! If you believe you should have access to a book but cannot read it, please email us at books@scholarsportal.info.

 

How can I report a broken book or link?


Please click "Report a Problem" on the top right-hand side of a book's page:

 

What are all these older results?

Scholars Portal Books hosts over 270,000 items scanned by the Internet Archive available to everyone. If you would like to limit your search to newer scholarly content, select “Subscribed Collections Only” when performing a search.

 

How much of a book can I download?

This varies from publisher to publisher, but the general rule is 20% of the book or 36 pages, whichever is more. To download, open a book and select the "Export to PDF" button at the bottom of the page:

If the book looks like this (XML content), you can download a chapter by choosing the print button in the right-hand corner and clicking "Print to PDF":

 

Some exceptions:

  • Springer books may be downloaded at the chapter level. You will see a small PDF button in the table of contents. Select the PDF button to download the chapter.
  • Open access content can be downloaded in full.
  • Canadian University Press books are "borrowable" ebooks. They cannot be read online. For more information, please see FAQs for Borrowable Books.

 

Can I print books or put them on my tablet/e-reader?

You can print or transfer as much of a book as you're allowed to download (usually 20% or 36 pages, whichever is more). Exported content will be in pdf format, which can be printed and read on most tablets and e-readers.

Borrowable books may also be read on tables and e-readers -- please see Accessing Scholars Portal Books Content for more information.

 

How can I find a print version of a book?

Check your library's catalogue. If your library does not have the book, or click through to RACER, the interlibrary loan service for Ontario universities. Our guide to using RACER is available here

 

How do I search by publisher?

To search by publisher or press, select a press from the drop-down menu and hit search. Everything from that press's collection will show up in the results:

To see holdings across multiple presses, search by Publisher across all Subscribed Collections, and include 'OR' between them: