Skip to main content
Scholars Portal logo

Research Data Repositories

Multidisciplinary

Government of Canada Open Data Portal

Website - www.data.gc.ca

What is it? - The Government of Canada Open Data Portal provides access to health, environment, agriculture, natural resources, and geospatial data. It also provides access to humanities and social sciences datasets.

Open Access? - Yes.

Procedure for Data Access? - Search by keyword or browse by subject, geospatial topic, file format, or department. Download datasets as files. Data formats vary by dataset. File formats are CSV/Text, KML/KMZ, RDF, Shapefile, and XML.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found.

Part of Any Collectives? – No.

Funding Model - Government of Canada.

Polar Data Catalogue

Website - http://www.polardata.ca/

What is it? - The Polar Data Catalogue is a database of metadata and data that describes, indexes and provides access to diverse data sets generated by Arctic and Antarctic researchers. The records follow Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) standard format to provide metadata exchange with other data centres. The records cover a wide range of disciplines from natural sciences and policy, to health and social sciences. This geospatial search tool is available to the public and researchers alike and allows searching data using a mapping interface or other parameters.

Open Access? - Yes.

Procedure for Data Access? - Search by keyword, location coordinates, or CCIN reference number. Only some datasets are available for download, but metadata is available for all.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found.

Part of Any Collectives? – International Polar Year Project (IPY)

Funding Model - Government of Canada Program for International Polar Year

Aerospace

Canadian Space Science Data Portal

Website - https://cssdp.ca/ssdp/app/login

What is it? - The CSSDP project provides space scientists with access to a wide range of space data, observations, and investigative tools. It provides a seamless, single- point of access to these resources through a custom web portal. New data received by the project is automatically catalogued nightly by the Portal.

Open Access? - must register to access data

Procedure for Data Access? - Web interface search and download

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of Any Collectives? – Not found

Funding Model - funding from partners: University of Alberta, CANARIE, Cybera Inc (project lead), University of Calgary, University of California, University of New Brunswick, University of Saskatchewan

National Atmospheric Chemistry Database

Website - http://www.ec.gc.ca/natchem/

What is it? - The purpose of the NAtChem database is to enhance atmospheric research through the archival and analysis of North American air and precipitation chemistry data. 

Open Access? - must register to access data

Procedure for Data Access? - Web interface download - First time downloads will require a Special Studies User Name and Password, which can be obtained by sending an e-mail with the subject line "NAtChem Special Studies Request for Account" (no other information is required). The User name and Password will be sent immediately by return e-mail.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of Any Collectives? -Not found

Funding Model – Funded by the Science and Technology Branch of Environment Canada

World Ozone and Ultraviolet Radiation Data Centre

Website - http://www.woudc.org/

What is it? - This data centre contains ozone and UV data measured by instruments located on ground-based, shipborne or airborne platforms.

Open Access? – All data are publicly available.

Procedure for Data Access? - All data posted by the WOUDC reside on an FTP server which is accessible from this web site through your web-viewer. To connect to the archive, go to the data page. However, when downloading a large number of files, it is recommended to use ftp application software which will require a special username and password. Contact the WOUDC for this information.

Preservation Mandate? –  Not Found

Part of Any Collectives? – part of the Global Atmosphere Watch (GAW) programme of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO)

Funding Model – Funded by the World Meteorological Organization but operated by Environment Canada.

Astronomy and Astrophysics

Canadian Astronomy Data Centre

Website - http://www3.cadc-ccda.hia-iha.nrc-cnrc.gc.ca/cadc/

What is it? - Aggregates about 28 astronomy archives for data searching.

Open Access? - original archival data requires (free) registration which is usually restricted to professional astronomers. Catalogue browsing and other services are open to the public.

Procedure for Data Access? - The data web service is the primary file storage and retrieval interface for the CADC. This service can be used programmatically to download, check file availability, upload, and delete files in the context of a particular data archive. To download a file from the data web service, the user must perform an HTTP GET on the URL that identifies the target file. If the GET is successful, the user will receive an HTTP response code of 200 and the file will be streamed to the client.

Preservation Mandate? Not found

Part of Any Collectives? Not found

Funding Model – operated by the National Research Council of Canada with the support of the Canadian Space Agency.

Biochemistry

Cybercell Database

Website - http://redpoll.pharmacy.ualberta.ca/CCDB/

What is it? - The CyberCell database (CCDB) actually consists of several databases and is a comprehensive collection of detailed enzymatic, biological, chemical, genetic, and molecular biological data about E. coli (strain K12, MG1655). The CCDB functions as an archival bioinformatics resource for Project CyberCell serving as a warehouse of prior or existing knowledge as well as a repository for newly acquired, experimental knowledge about E. coli.

Open Access? – open access.

Procedure for Data Access? - Web interface display and download. Mainly FASTA format and text files.

Preservation Mandate? - Not found

Part of Any Collectives? - CCDB is part of Project CyberCell*, a large-scale multi-lab project based out the University of Alberta. Project CyberCell is also part of the International E. coli Alliance, an multi-national project aimed at coordinating E. coli simulation and E. coli bioinformatics efforts across Canada (Project CyberCell), the US (EMC2), Japan (E-Cell) and the European Community (SiliconCell, GSK).

 Funding Model – Funded by Pence, GenomePrairie, ANPI and Western Economic Diversification Canada

Biological Sciences

Atlantic Canada Conservation Data Centre

Website - http://www.accdc.com/home.html

What is it? - ACCDC assembles and provides objective and understandable data and expertise about species and ecological communities of conservation concern, including those at risk, and undertake field biological inventories to support decision-making, research, and education in Atlantic Canada. The Atlantic CDC maintains comprehensive lists of plant and animal species, with a rarity rank and legal status for each. These lists, the result of collaboration with regional experts, aid the development of sub-national rarity ranks (S-ranks). The Atlantic CDC also maintains biological and other types of data (information sources, professional contacts, data requests, etc.) in a variety of linked databases. Records occurrence data.

Open Access? – Site visitors can download species occurrence data that has been generalized to the county level. Detailed data is commercial and comes with restrictions on use.

Procedure for Data Access? - Site visitors can download species occurrence data that has been generalized to the county level for New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island, and the eco-region level for Newfoundland and Labrador. Custom data requests can be made via email.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found.

Part of Any Collectives? – Member of NatureServe Canada http://www.natureserve-canada.ca and NatureServe (international) http://www.natureserve.org/index.jsp

Funding Model – A registered charity, supported by federal and provincial governments and environmental organizations. Located at Mount Allison U.

Canadian Biodiversity Information Facility

Website - http://www.cbif.gc.ca/home_e.php

What is it? - A discovery layer with links to repositories. They don’t appear to archive any data.

Open Access? – Yes

Procedure for Data Access? -Web interface display and download.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found.

Part of Any Collectives? – Member of the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF)

Funding Model – CBIF is made up of the five federal natural resource departments and other partners.

B.C. Conservation Data Centre

Website - http://www.env.gov.bc.ca/cdc/

What is it? - Systematically collects and disseminates information on plants, animals and ecosystems (ecological communities) at risk in British Columbia. BC Species and Ecosystems Explorer represents a "snapshot" of dynamic data that are continually being refined by the BC Conservation Data Centre (CDC). Mostly reports.

Who Can Deposit? – The Conservation Data Centre depends on the observations of scientists and knowledgeable amateur naturalists to continue building its province-wide database on the locations of species and ecological communities at risk. Once received, your observation will be reviewed by the pertinent staff specialist. If appropriate, it will be incorporated into the database as a new record, or used to update an existing record. Has instructions for documenting observations. Will accept data in any format, but encourages people to use their observation forms.

Open Access? – Most of the data is open, but the CDC database contains records which are sensitive for ecological, academic or other reasons, or because they occur on private property. These records fall under the exemption provisions of the Freedom of Information Act and will not be released to the public. Such records are normally listed in reports without locational information attached, but with a contact address provided so that the reason for protection of the record can be discussed. Exceptions are made only under specific circumstances (e.g., for bona fide government conservation planning strategies, professional personnel working to enforce the Forest Practices Code, etc.) on the understanding that this information will not be released to the general public.

Procedure for Data Access? -Web interface download - also see http://www.env.gov.bc.ca/cdc/access.html

Preservation Mandate? – Not found.

Part of Any Collectives? – Member of NatureServe Canada http://www.natureserve-canada.ca and NatureServe (international) http://www.natureserve.org/index.jsp

Funding Model – a joint project of the Ministry of Environment, the Nature Trust of B.C., the Nature Conservancy of Canada and The Nature Conservancy (US). Initial funding came from a variety of government and corporate sponsors.

Natural Heritage Information Centre

Website - http://nhic.mnr.gov.on.ca/MNR/nhic/nhic.cfm

What is it? - NHIC compiles, maintains and distributes information on natural species, plant communities and spaces of conservation concern in Ontario. This information is stored in a spatial database used for tracking this information.

Open Access? – Yes, but some sensitive data may be restricted. Can download Shapefiles.

Procedure for Data Access? -Web interface download

Preservation Mandate? – Mission: to acquire, maintain, update, and make available data on the province's rare species, vegetation communities, and natural areas. Goal: to generate a permanent and dynamic atlas and data bank on the character, distribution and conservation status of natural areas, critical flora and fauna, communities and special features in Ontario.

Part of Any Collectives? –Not found

Funding Model – a joint project of the Ontario MNR, Natural Heritage League, the Nature Conservancy of Canada and The Nature Conservancy (US).

Chemistry

Oil Properties Database

Website - http://www.etc-cte.ec.gc.ca/databases/OilProperties/Default.aspx

What is it? - The database contains physical and chemical properties of over 450 crude oils.

Open Access? – Open Access

Procedure for Data Access? - Web interface display.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of Any Collectives? – Not found

Funding Model – Funded by Environment Canada

Climatology

Canada's National Climate Data and Information Archive

Website - http://www.climate.weatheroffice.gc.ca/Welcome_e.html

What is it? - The National Climate Data and Information Archive, operated and maintained by Environment Canada, contains official climate and weather observations for Canada. Climate elements, such as temperature, precipitation, relative humidity, atmospheric pressure, wind speed, wind direction, visibility, cloud types, cloud heights and amounts, soil temperature, evaporation, solar radiation and sunshine as well as occurrences of thunderstorms, hail, fog or other weather phenomena are warehoused in a digital database. Access to selected portions of this data, as well as related products such as CD-ROMs and climate normals and averages are available on this web site. Information regarding obtaining extremes, monthly summaries, microfilm, microfiche, paper documents and technical documents, is also available.

Open Access? - Open

Procedure for Data Access? -Web interface display

Preservation Mandate?Not found

Part of Any Collectives?Not found

Funding Model – Funded by Canadian Government/Environment Canada

Crystallography

CRYSTMET

Website - http://www.tothcanada.com/databases.htm

What is it? - Database that contains chemical, crystallographic (data for metals, including alloys, intermetallics and minerals) and bibliographic data together with associated comments regarding experimental details for each study. Licenced by Toth Information Systems, Inc.

Open Access? – free demonstration version available, more comprehensive version available for sale.

Procedure for Data Access? - A demonstration version of CRYSTMET® is available, within the Materials ToolKit environment, for downloading.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of Any Collectives? – Not found

Funding Model - National Research Council of Canada, now licenced by Toth Information Systems, Inc.

Environment

Global Pesticides Release Database (GloPeRD)

Website - http://www.ec.gc.ca/air-sc-r/default.asp?lang=En&n=BDCB94F8-1

What is it? - Established in recognition of the increasingly urgent needs of the national and international community for accurate and complete usage, emission and residue data for pesticides. Includes: Surrogate data, in order to grid usage or emission data and to apportion the usage or emission data to each cell, and Emission data, which is used in modelling to understand the sources, occurrence, and pathways of contaminants and to predict how their input and concentrations in the various environmental compartments may change in the future.

Open Access? – Specific data from the GloPeRD database is available and free by contacting the scientific authority, Dr. Yi-Fan Li.

Procedure for Data Access? -Not found

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of any Collectives? - This research is a contribution to the Canadian Arctic research through the Northern Contaminants Programme (NCP) and to the Global Emissions Inventory Activity (GEIA)

Funding Model – Environment Canada, but also international funding

National Air Pollution Surveillance Network - Data

Website - http://www.ec.gc.ca/air-sc-r/default.asp?lang=En&n=9547191B-1

What is it? - Canada-Wide database of criteria air contaminants from the early 1970s to the present for designated National Air Pollution Surveillance Network sites, as well as provincial, territorial and other sites. Trace contaminants are also monitored at several stations in the network and analyzed by the laboratory at River Road.

Open Access? – Data is available upon request by email to RNSPA-NAPSINFO@ec.gc.ca

Procedure for Data Access? - Must request access through email. No info on format.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of any Collectives?Not found

Funding Model – Environment Canada

Forestry

National Forestry Database

Website - http://nfdp.ccfm.org/index_e.php

What is it? - The Canadian Forest Service (CFS) developed and maintains the National Forestry Database and has responsibility for disseminating national forestry statistics. Quick facts, national data and jurisdictional data are available for forest inventory, wood supply, forest fires, forest insects, forest products, silviculture, revenues, and pest control product use.

Open Access? – Open

Procedure for Data Access? -Web interface display and download

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of Any Collectives? –Not found

Funding Model – The Program is a partnership between the federal government and provincial and territorial governments.

System of Agents for Forest Observation Research with Automation Hierarchies (SAFORAH)

Website - http://www.saforah.org/

What is it? - SAFORAH has created in March 2002 to coordinate and streamline the archiving and sharing of numerous distributed large remote sensing data sets between various research groups with Canadian Forest Service (CFS), UVic and other academic and government partners to facilitate research in support of our national forest monitoring activities.

Open Access? – Users can obtain access to remote sensing data and information products in SAFORAH by using the Catalogue and User Data Ordering System (CUDOS) (User registration required) or an Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC) portal (User registration not required).

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of Any Collectives? – Not found

Funding Model – SAFORAH was developed through a collaboration of government, university and industry. Including; Natural Resources Canada (NRCan), Canadian Space Agency (CSA), GeoConnections Canada, University of Victoria (UVic), Center for Spatial Information Science and Systems (CSISS), George Mason University (GMU), MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA), Environment Canada (EC), Agriculture and Agri-Foods Canada (AAFC), BC Common Information Technology Services (CITS), Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI).

Canadian Wildland Fire Information System

Website - http://cwfis.cfs.nrcan.gc.ca/en_CA/index

What is it? - CWFIS is a computer-based fire management information system that monitors fire danger conditions across Canada. Daily weather conditions are collected from across Canada and used to produce fire weather and fire behavior maps. In addition, satellites are used to detect fires. Creates daily fire weather and fire behavior maps year-round and hot spot maps throughout the forest fire season, generally between May and September.

Open Access? – Open

Procedure for Data Access? -Web interface display.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of Any Collectives? – Not found

Funding Model – Funded by Natural Resources Canada.

Genomics

The Centre for Applied Genomics Databases

Website - http://www.tcag.ca/databases/index.html

What is it? - The Centre for Applied Genomics hosts a variety of databases related to ongoing supported projects.

Open Access? – Open Access

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of Any Collectives? –Not found

Funding Model – Genome Canada and the Ontario Genomics Institute

The Organelle Genome Megasequencing Program

Website - http://megasun.bch.umontreal.ca/ogmp/

What is it? - The Organelle Genome Megasequencing Program (OGMP) is interested in the evolution of mitochondria and plastids and their genomes. Databases include:

  • PEP, with a focus on unicellular microbial eukaryotes, known as protists
  • FMGP, the Fungal Mitochondrial Genome Project.
  • GOBASE, a taxonomically broad organelle genome database that organizes and integrates diverse data related to mitochondria and chloroplasts

Open Access? – Not found

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of Any Collectives? – The Organelle Genome Megasequencing Program (OGMP) has been initiated by an interdisciplinary collaboration involving ten research groups, predominantly in Eastern Canada, each of which is interested in the evolution of mitochondria and plastids and their genomes.

Funding Model – Support for the OGMP has been provided by operating and equipment grants from the Medical Research Council of Canada (MRC) and the Canadian Genome Analysis and Technology Program (CGAT), by salary support for G. Burger, MW. Gray and BF. Lang from the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIAR), Program in Evolutionary Biology, and by generous equipment grants from Sun Microsystems and Li-Cor.

Canada’s Michael Smith Genome Sciences Centre

Website - http://www.bcgsc.ca/data/

What is it? - Leading international centre for genomics and bioinformatics research. The priority of the centre is to develop innovative means to automate the DNA sequencing process, develop cost-effective measures that will make such research financially viable, and utilize state-of-the-art computing facilities to collect, mine, analyze and disperse data collected at this and other genome facilities.

Open Access?Yes.

Procedure for Data Access? - Varies by database. Most data are available as HTTP or FTP downloads. File formats vary (TXT, WIG, and FPC are common). Many data can be displayed in a web browser. No API.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of Any Collectives? - The Genome Sciences Centre is one of fifteen research programs that operate as part of the BC Cancer Research Centre.

Funding ModelThe BC Cancer Agency, an agency of the Provincial Health Services Authority, provides a province-wide cancer control program for the residents of British Columbia. Additional support is funded by the British Columbia Cancer Foundation and the following organizations: CIHR-IRSC, Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research, The Cancer Research Society, Prostate Cancer Canada, NSERC-CRSNG, Western Economic Diversification Canada, The Terry Fox Foundation, National Institutes of Health, GenomeCanada, Genome BritishColumbia, Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation, CBCRA, Canada Foundation for Innovation, Canadian Cancer Society, British Columbia, Lions Club, The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

Barcode of Life (BOLD)

Website - http://www.boldsystems.org/views/login.php

What is it? - BOLD is an online workbench that aids collection, management, analysis, and use of DNA barcodes. Researchers can upload and analyze their data in private, group, or public environments. BOLD consists of 3 components (MAS, IDS, and ECS) that each address the needs of various groups in the barcoding community.

Open Access?Access to data depends on the access permissions established by researchers when they submitted data to BOLD. Researchers can mark data as private or public. Researchers can create groups by setting access permissions for specific individuals.

Procedure for Data Access? - Access to data depends on the access permissions established by researchers when they submitted data to BOLD. Data that has been publicly released through BOLD can be retrieved manually through the BOLD public interface or automatically through BOLD web services. Manual data downloads are in FAS format. Public data records include record identifiers, taxonomy, specimen details, collection information and sequence data. Data records that have been publicly released through BOLD can be retrieved by setting search parameters in the web services with options to download reports in some of the most common file formats (XML, TEXT, JSON).

Preservation Mandate? – Not found.

Part of Any Collectives?The Consortium for the Barcode of Life (CBOL) was launched in May 2004 and now includes more than 120 organizations from 45 nations. Data in BOLD can be submitted to GenBank automatically.

Funding Model – funded by: Biodiversity Institute of Ontario, Ministry of Research and Innovation Ontario, GenomeCanada, OntarioGenomicsInstitute, NSERC CRSNG.

Biological General Repository for Interaction Datasets (BioGRID)

Website - http://thebiogrid.org/

What is it? - This database was developed to house and distribute collections of protein and genetic interactions from major model organism species.

Open Access? – Yes.

Procedure for Data Access? - Users can download data. Current formats include PSI-MI XML 2.5, Osprey Custom Network 1.3.1, BioGRID TAB 2.0, PSI MITAB 2.5. Legacy formats include BioGRID TAB 1.0 and PSI-MI XML 1.0. BioGRID also provides access to interaction data through REST web services.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of Any Collectives? – Affiliated with a number labs, see http://wiki.thebiogrid.org/doku.php/aboutus

Funding Model – Funding Partners include: National Institutes of Health, CIHR IRSC, BBSRC. Also have Facility Partners, Model Organism Database Partners, Interaction Database Partners, Annotation Database Partners, Tool Partners, Software and Library Partners.

Geosciences

GeoBase

Website - http://www.geobase.ca/

What is it? - GeoBase is a federal, provincial and territorial government initiative that is overseen by the Canadian Council on Geomatics (CCOG). It is undertaken to ensure the provision of, and access to, a common, up-to-date and maintained base of quality geospatial data for all of Canada. Through the GeoBase portal, users with an interest in the field of geomatics have access to quality geospatial information at no cost and with unrestricted use. Each GeoBase theme will provide full national coverage of the data. Data at the level of local interest only is excluded. All GeoBase data themes include FGDC compliant metadata that uses the current Canadian national profile. ISO 19155 compliant metadata will be added in the future, replacing the FGDC metadata.

Open Access? – Open, but user registration is mandatory for downloading GeoBase data.

Procedure for Data Access? - The portal will support file-based downloads of arbitrary regions and combinations of data. In addition, The GeoBase WMS also permits direct access to GeoBase data through WMS functionalities following Open GeoSpatial Consortium (OGC) standards.

Preservation Mandate? – The portal does not store data. Rather it accesses the data providers’ databases, in real time, when a data request is received.

Part of Any Collectives? – Not found

Funding Model – Funding support from GeoConnections – Natural Resources Canada. Most of GeoBase data are produced under partnership between federal, provincial and territorial agencies. GeoBase partners are involved in different levels of the data production process such as project funding, sharing of source data or by working on data collection and data processing.

Geoconnections Discovery Portal

Website - http://geodiscover.cgdi.ca/web/guest/home

What is it? - The GeoConnections Discovery Portal is a metadata catalogue that enables GIS users, developers and data suppliers to find, evaluate, access, visualize and publish Canadian geospatial and geoscience data products and Web services.

Open Access? - registration only required for access to additional portal features

Preservation Mandate? - Not found

Part of Any Collectives? – Not found.

Funding Model - Natural Resources Canada - Produced under licence from Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Natural Resources.

Geoscience Data Repository

Website - http://gdr.nrcan.gc.ca/index_e.php

What is it? - The Geoscience Data Repository (GDR) is a collection of Earth Sciences Sector geoscience databases that is managed and accessed by a series of Information Services (GDRIS). The aim of the GDR is to standardize corporate databases and make them interoperable in order to increase the discovery, access and use of the geoscience information that the Sector has been mandated to collect and maintain.

Open Access? – Open

Preservation Mandate? - The GDR is designed so that the data sets it contains for the applications of today will continue to be useful for the applications of tomorrow. This is accomplished by allowing the loading, discovery and access of these data sets through a suite of standard Web enabled services that allow for the easy integration of the GDR information into new applications.

Part of Any Collectives? –Not found

Funding Model – Natural Resources Canada

GeoGratis

Website - http://geogratis.cgdi.gc.ca/geogratis/en/index.html

What is it? - GeoGratis is a portal provided by the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resourcs Canada which provides geospatial data at  no cost and without restrictions via your web browser.

Open Access? – Open, but users are encouraged to register on a voluntary basis

Preservation Mandate? - Not found

Part of Any Collectives? – Not found

Funding Model - Natural Resources Canada

Health Sciences

Canada Vigilance Online Database

Website - http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/dhp-mps/medeff/databasdon/index-eng.php

What is it? - The database contains information about suspected adverse reactions (also known as side effects) to health products, captured from adverse reaction reports submitted to Health Canada by consumers and health professionals, who submit reports voluntarily, as well as by market authorization holders (manufacturers and distributors), who are required to submit reports according to the Food and Drugs Regulations. Each report represents the suspicion, opinion, or observation of the individual making the report.

Open Access? – Yes.

Procedure for Data Access? - Search engine. Results can be exported as PDF or Excel file.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of Any Collectives? – Not found

Funding Model – Funded by Health Canada

Marine Sciences

St. Lawrence Global Observatory

Website - http://slgo.ca/en.html

What is it? - The St. Lawrence Global Observatory (SLGO) is an initiative to provide integrated access to data and information from a network of governmental, academic and community organizations for the sustainable management of the St. Lawrence global ecosystem.

Open Access? – Open access for most data. Some data restricted by an embargo period.

Procedure for Data Access? - Browse datasets. View data in browser. Some data can be manipulated in web applications. SLGO can also develop Web services based on a set of standard protocols such as XML markup language, SOAP (Simple Object Access Protocol), etc. In addition, SLGO offers Web application development services best suited to meet your needs and your projects specific characteristics whether to facilitate the exchange of information with partners and customers or any other context.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found.

Part of Any Collectives?GEO (Group on Earth Observations) and GEOSS (Group on Earth Observations System of Systems).

Funding Model – Funded by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Oceanography

Integrated Science Data Management

Website - http://www.meds-sdmm.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/isdm-gdsi/index-eng.html

What is it? - ISDM's mandate is to manage and archive ocean data collected by DFO, or acquired through national and international programmes conducted in ocean areas adjacent to Canada, and to disseminate data, data products, and services to the marine community in accordance with the policies of the Department. Data policy: http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/science/data-donnees/policy-politique-eng.htm

Open Access? - “DFO scientific data are a public resource and subject to full and open access within two years of being acquired.” Some datasets are publicly available, others involve data request form. (Data Policy)

Procedure for Data Access? - Search by topic or title. Data access is distributed across DFO websites.

Preservation Mandate?Stated responsibilities include “ensuring long term accessibility and documentation in the event of organizational changes, retirements, etc.” and “protecting data against loss resulting from error, accident, technological change, degradation of media, etc.” “To ensure proper management and archival of data, all scientific data collected by the Department must be migrated to a ‘managed' archive immediately after the data have been processed.” (Data Policy)

Part of Any Collectives?International Oceanographic Data and Information Exchange (IODE)

Funding Model - Department of Fisheries and Oceans

Institute of Ocean Sciences (West Coast)

Website - http://www.pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/science/oceans/data-donnees/index-eng.htm

What is it? - The IOS/OSD data archive contains the holdings of oceanographic data generated by the Institute of Ocean Sciences and other agencies and laboratories, including the Institute of Oceanography at the University of British Columbia and the Pacific Biological Station. The contents include data from B.C. coastal waters and inlets, B.C. continental shelf waters, open ocean North Pacific waters, Beaufort Sea and the Arctic Archipelago. Some real-time data is available.

Open Access? - DFO employees have access. External users can search the catalogue, but must contact the repository for access the data. In most cases, access will require a licence agreement and fee.

Procedure for Data Access? - Browse by topic.

Preservation Mandate?Not found

Part of Any Collectives? – Integrated Science Data Management.

Funding Model - Department of Fisheries and Oceans

Ocean and Ecosystem Science (East Coast)

Website - http://www2.mar.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/science/ocean/sci/sci-e.html

What is it? - Ocean and Ecosystem Science (OES) is a compendium of scientific information and data generated by science staff working on oceanographic, environmental, ecological, and fish conservation issues along the east coast. OES features information on oceanographic monitoring and research programs that are developed by the Ocean Science Division (OSD) the Maritimes Region of the Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Open Access? - Most datasets are available for download or viewing. Some require registration.

Procedure for Data Access? - Browse by topic.

Preservation Mandate?Not found

Part of Any Collectives?Integrated Science Data Management

Funding Model - Department of Fisheries and Oceans

Victoria Experimental Network Under the Sea (West Coast)

Website - http://venus.uvic.ca/

What is it? - The Victoria Experimental Network Under the Sea (VENUS) is a cabled undersea laboratory for ocean researchers and explorers. VENUS delivers real time information from seafloor instruments via fibre optic cables to the University of Victoria, BC.

Open Access? - Yes for scholarly or educational use.

Procedure for Data Access? - Browse by various variables.

Preservation Mandate? – "VENUS will maintain an Archive of instrument data of the highest quality possible within the Facility’s operating constraints." http://www.venus.uvic.ca/wp-content/uploads/VENUS_Data_Policy.pdf

Part of Any Collectives? – Managed by Ocean Networks Canada.

Funding Model - Various public and corporate sources, chiefly the University of Victoria, B.C., NSERC, and the Canadian Foundation for Innovation.

North-East Pacific Time-series Undersea Networked Experiments (West Coast)

Website - http://www.neptunecanada.ca/

What is it? - the North-East Pacific Time-series Undersea Networked Experiments (NEPTUNE) is a regional-scale cabled deep ocean observing network.  It consists of an 800km network of electro‐optic cable laid on the seabed over the northern Juan de Fuca tectonic plate, off the coast of British Columbia. NEPTUNE Canada instruments yield continuous real‐time data and imagery from the ocean surface to beneath the seafloor, and from the coast to the deep sea.

Open Access? - Viewing data is open. Downloading data may have embargo period.

Procedure for Data Access? - Browse by data product. Create custom plots. Registration required.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found.

Part of Any Collectives? – Managed by Ocean Networks Canada.

Funding Model - Various public and corporate sources, chiefly the University of Victoria, B.C., NSERC, CANARIE, and the Canadian Foundation for Innovation.

Water Quantity Data

National Water Data Archive / Water Survey of Canada

Website - http://www.ec.gc.ca/rhc-wsc/default.asp?lang=En&n=894E91BE-1

What is it? - Real-time and historical hydrometric data for Canada. Real-time data comes from over 1600 stations across Canada. The historical database contains all water information collected through the National Hydrometric Program. These data include: daily and monthly mean flow, water level and sediment concentration for over 2500 active and 5500 discontinued hydrometric monitoring station across Canada.

Open Access? - Yes

Procedure for Data Access? - Real-time data: search by province/territory or basin and view results in browser. Historical data: search by station, station attributes, time period, flows or levels. View data in browser or download data in Card or CSV format. Users can download hydrometric data and station information in a single Microsoft Access Database file. This file is updated on a quarterly basis. Users can download a Windows application for searching or browsing the data.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of Any Collectives? – Not found

Funding Model - Environment Canada, jointly administered under federal-provincial and federal-territorial cost-sharing agreements.