Skip to main content
Scholars Portal logo

Research Data Repositories

Aerospace

Canadian Space Science Data Portal

Website - https://cssdp.ca/ssdp/app/login

What is it? - The CSSDP project provides space scientists with access to a wide range of space data, observations, and investigative tools. It provides a seamless, single- point of access to these resources through a custom web portal.

Who Can Deposit? – specific groups: CGSM, NORSTAR, SuperDARN, NRCAN (CANMOS), CARISMA, CHAIN, DRAO (F10.7), MACCS, e-POP, THEMIS, ORBITALS.

Procedure for Data Submission? - Adding new data is straight-forward. If the research project does not generate its own SPASE XML, the Portal's SPASE XML generator can generate the XML required to catalogue the location of the data on the project's server. This XML links the data files to the following search attributes:

  • Project
  • Instrument
  • Observatory
  • Analytic

New data received by the project is automatically catalogued nightly by the Portal.

Open Access? - Must register to access data.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of Any Collectives? – Not found

Funding Model - funding from partners: University of Alberta, CANARIE, Cybera Inc (project lead), University of Calgary, University of California, University of New Brunswick, University of Saskatchewan.

World ozone and Ultraviolet Radiation Data Centre

Website - http://www.woudc.org/

What is it? - This data centre contains ozone and UV data measured by instruments located on ground-based, shipborne or airborne platforms.

Who Can Deposit? – designated stations that collect data as well as specific international agencies and institutions; http://www.woudc.org/currentcontributors_e.html, other data originators are asked to follow steps for arranging data submissions to the WOUDC for ozone and/or UV data sets.

Procedure for Data Submission? - The WOUDC file format standard for data submission is the Extended Comma Separated Values (extCSV) Format. The extCSV format was designed and developed by E.J. Carty and E.W. Hare for use at the WOUDC, but the file format standard may be used for other data management applications. The WOUDC will continue to accept WODC data submitted in the old 80-column format, however, data originators are encouraged to use the extCSV data format standard.

Submission of data files is done using personal file transfer protocol (ftp) accounts assigned to data originators by the WOUDC. Data submitted on paper forms, diskettes or CDs will be also accepted.

For application process and steps please see: http://www.woudc.org/data/UsingArchive_e.html

Open Access? – All data are publicly available.

Preservation Mandate? –  Not found.

Part of Any Collectives? – part of the Global Atmosphere Watch (GAW) programme of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO).

 Funding Model – Funded by the World Meteorological Organization but operated by Environment Canada.

Astronomy and Astrophysics

Canadian Astronomy Data Centre

Website - http://www3.cadc-ccda.hia-iha.nrc-cnrc.gc.ca/cadc/

What is it? - Aggregates about 28 astronomy archives for data searching.

Who Can Deposit? –  professional astronomers?

Procedure for Data Submission? - Data submission must go through the CADC data web service as well. To upload a file to the data web service, you must have permission to write to the target archive and (if supplied) namespace. An upload is done by performing an HTTP PUT to the URL identifying the file, and supplying the file data in the accompanying input stream of the request. If successful, an HTTP 201 response code will be returned.

Open Access? - original archival data requires (free) registration which is usually restricted to professional astronomers. Catalogue browsing and other services are open to the public.

Preservation Mandate? Not found

Part of Any Collectives? Not found

Funding Model – operated by the National Research Council of Canada with the support of the Canadian Space Agency

Biological Sciences

B.C. Conservation Data Centre

Website - http://www.env.gov.bc.ca/cdc/

What is it? - Systematically collects and disseminates information on plants, animals and ecosystems (ecological communities) at risk in British Columbia. BC Species and Ecosystems Explorer represents a "snapshot" of dynamic data that are continually being refined by the BC Conservation Data Centre (CDC). Mostly reports.

Who Can Deposit? – The Conservation Data Centre depends on the observations of scientists and knowledgeable amateur naturalists to continue building its province-wide database on the locations of species and ecological communities at risk. Once received, your observation will be reviewed by the pertinent staff specialist. If appropriate, it will be incorporated into the database as a new record, or used to update an existing record. Has instructions for documenting observations. Will accept data in any format, but encourages people to use their observation forms.

Procedure for Data Submission? - Please see http://www.env.gov.bc.ca/cdc/contribute.html for submission requirements.

Open Access? – Most of the data is open, but the CDC database contains records which are sensitive for ecological, academic or other reasons, or because they occur on private property. These records fall under the exemption provisions of the Freedom of Information Act and will not be released to the public. Such records are normally listed in reports without locational information attached, but with a contact address provided so that the reason for protection of the record can be discussed. Exceptions are made only under specific circumstances (e.g., for bona fide government conservation planning strategies, professional personnel working to enforce the Forest Practices Code, etc.) on the understanding that this information will not be released to the general public.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found.

Part of Any Collectives? – Member of NatureServe Canada http://www.natureserve-canada.ca and NatureServe (international) http://www.natureserve.org/index.jsp

Funding Model – a joint project of the Ministry of Environment, the Nature Trust of B.C., the Nature Conservancy of Canada and The Nature Conservancy (US). Initial funding came from a variety of government and corporate sponsors.

Natural Heritage Information Centre

Website - http://nhic.mnr.gov.on.ca/MNR/nhic/nhic.cfm

What is it? - NHIC compiles, maintains and distributes information on natural species, plant communities and spaces of conservation concern in Ontario. This information is stored in a spatial database used for tracking this information.

Who Can Deposit? – Anyone. They have an online form for reporting rare species and plants. They provide instructions.

Procedure for Data Submission? - Please see http://nhic.mnr.gov.on.ca/MNR/nhic/data/standards.cfm for data standards.

Open Access? – Yes, but some sensitive data may be restricted. Can download Shapefiles.

Preservation Mandate? – Mission: to acquire, maintain, update, and make available data on the province's rare species, vegetation communities, and natural areas. Goal: to generate a permanent and dynamic atlas and data bank on the character, distribution and conservation status of natural areas, critical flora and fauna, communities and special features in Ontario.

Part of Any Collectives? – Not found

Funding Model – a joint project of the Ontario MNR, Natural Heritage League, the Nature Conservancy of Canada and The Nature Conservancy (US).

Genomics

Canada’s Michael Smith Genome Sciences Centre

Website - http://www.bcgsc.ca/data/

What is it? - Leading international centre for genomics and bioinformatics research. The priority of the centre is to develop innovative means to automate the DNA sequencing process, develop cost-effective measures that will make such research financially viable, and utilize state-of-the-art computing facilities to collect, mine, analyze and disperse data collected at this and other genome facilities.

Who Can Deposit? - Platform services at the GSC are collaborative and are available and accessible to any and all qualified researchers.

Procedure for Data Submission? - Varies by database.

Open Access?Yes.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of Any Collectives? - The Genome Sciences Centre is one of fifteen research programs that operate as part of the BC Cancer Research Centre.

Funding ModelThe BC Cancer Agency, an agency of the Provincial Health Services Authority, provides a province-wide cancer control program for the residents of British Columbia. Additional support is funded by the British Columbia Cancer Foundation and the following organizations: CIHR-IRSC, Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research, The Cancer Research Society, Prostate Cancer Canada, NSERC-CRSNG, Western Economic Diversification Canada, The Terry Fox Foundation, National Institutes of Health, GenomeCanada, Genome BritishColumbia, Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation, CBCRA, Canada Foundation for Innovation, Canadian Cancer Society, British Columbia, Lions Club, The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

Barcode of Life (BOLD)

Website - http://www.boldsystems.org/views/login.php

What is it? - BOLD is an online workbench that aids collection, management, analysis, and use of DNA barcodes. Researchers can upload and analyze their data in private, group, or public environments. BOLD consists of 3 components (MAS, IDS, and ECS) that each address the needs of various groups in the barcoding community.

Who Can Deposit? – The BOLD platform is freely available to all interested parties. This means that anyone can create an account, access public barcode records, upload their own data and have access to all features available on BOLD.

Procedure for Data Submission? - With the exception of Specimen Data, which must be submitted first, all other data such as Sequences, Trace Files and Images may be submitted to BOLD in any order. Single specimen submissions can be uploaded manually. Batch specimen submissions can be uploaded by filling out the template spreadsheet and uploading the file to your BOLD project. Your batch data submission will be placed in the queue and BOLD data managers will be able to assist you by validating and uploading your records in a timely fashion. For more details on how to upload your data, please visit our online documentation at data submission protocol.

Open Access?Access to data depends on the access permissions established by researchers when they submitted data to BOLD. Researchers can mark data as private or public. Researchers can create groups by setting access permissions for specific individuals.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of Any Collectives?The Consortium for the Barcode of Life (CBOL) was launched in May 2004 and now includes more than 120 organizations from 45 nations. Data in BOLD can be submitted to GenBank automatically.

Funding Model – funded by: Biodiversity Institute of Ontario, Ministry of Research and Innovation Ontario, GenomeCanada, OntarioGenomicsInstitute, NSERC CRSNG

Biological General Repository for Interaction Datasets (BioGRID)

Website - http://thebiogrid.org/

What is it? - This database was developed to house and distribute collections of protein and genetic interactions from major model organism species.

Who Can Deposit? – Data must be published or “in Press”

Procedure for Data Submission? - Contact the administrators. "In most cases, all you need to do is send us a Microsoft Excel or Plain Text File containing your interaction results, and our team can incorporate it into the BioGRID. Furthermore, if you have a publication that is “in press”, but not yet released to the public, we can also work with you to get your data incorporated into the BioGRID, so that they are available in our results as quickly as possible to coincide with the release of your paper.

Open Access? – Yes.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of Any Collectives? – Affiliated with a number labs, see http://wiki.thebiogrid.org/doku.php/aboutus

Funding Model – Funding Partners include: National Institutes of Health, CIHR IRSC, BBSRC. Also have Facility Partners, Model Organism Database Partners, Interaction Database Partners, Annotation Database Partners, Tool Partners, Software and Library Partners.

Health Sciences

Canada Vigilance Online Database

Website - http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/dhp-mps/medeff/databasdon/index-eng.php

What is it? - The database contains information about suspected adverse reactions (also known as side effects) to health products, captured from adverse reaction reports submitted to Health Canada by consumers and health professionals, who submit reports voluntarily, as well as by market authorization holders (manufacturers and distributors), who are required to submit reports according to the Food and Drugs Regulations. Each report represents the suspicion, opinion, or observation of the individual making the report.

Who Can Deposit? – Consumers, health professionals, and market authorization holders (manufacturers and distributors).

Procedure for Data Submission? - Varies by type of provider. In general, submit form online or by phone, fax, or mail.

Open Access? – Yes.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found

Part of Any Collectives? – No

Funding Model – Funded by Health Canada

Multidisciplinary

Polar Data Catalogue

Website - http://www.polardata.ca/

What is it? - The Polar Data Catalogue is a database of metadata and data that describes, indexes and provides access to diverse data sets generated by Arctic and Antarctic researchers. The records follow Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) standard format to provide metadata exchange with other data centres. The records cover a wide range of disciplines from natural sciences and policy, to health and social sciences. This geospatial search tool is available to the public and researchers alike and allows searching data using a mapping interface or other parameters.

Who Can Deposit?Polar researchers. The research is conducted under the auspices of a wide variety of programs, including ArcticNet, the Northern Contaminants Program, NSERC-funded programs and the Government of Canada Program for the International Polar Year (IPY) 2007-2008.

Procedure for Data Submission? -Researchers must login. Please see https://www.polardata.ca/pdc/public/helpDocumentPage.ccin for further submission instructions.

Open Access? - Yes.

Preservation Mandate? – Not found.

Part of Any Collectives? – International Polar Year Project (IPY)

Funding Model - Government of Canada Program for International Polar Year

Don't see your discipline here?

Only a small number of repositories publicize their submission guidelines, so you may not see a repository for your discipline on our list.

If you're a faculty member or graduate student at an Ontario university, you can use the Scholars Portal Dataverse service. You can store your data in a private, secure, password-protected workspace. You can access Dataverse from any internet connection. If you wish, you can use Dataverse to share your data with your co-investigators, colleagues, or the public.

If you can't find a Canadian repository for your data, there are many trusted, highly regarded repositories outside Canada. To find a repository, talk to other researchers in your field and check out the list of data repositories maintained by the University of Oregon. For additional advice, talk to the data librarian at your library. You may be able to deposit your data at your institutional repository.